Diamond, John

From Lane Co Oregon

According to Oregon Geographic Names (OGN), the city of Coburg was originally called Diamond after John Diamond, an early pioneer in the area 1847, on whose land claim the city was located.

This veteran pioneer of Lane County, a view of whose residence appears in this work, and whose name appears frequently in the historical portions of our volume, was born in Londonderry, Ireland, in August, 1815. Sailing from Belfast, April 14, 1844, he landed at Ogdensburg, New York, In the following August, and proceeding to the city of New York, there remained until October, 1845. At this time he moved to Monroe county, Michigan, afterwards, September 10, 1846, going to Chicago, and there dwelt until March, 1847, when he commenced his journey to Oregon in company with his co-pioneer Jacob C. Spores. these two traveled together as far as Fort Hall, from which point Mr. Diamond pushed on ahead with horses, and arrived at Whitman's station, August 3, 1847. He now continued onward, and September 20, 1847, arrived in what is now Lane county and took up the claim on which the town of Coburg stands. That he sold in October, 1858, and went to California, whence he visited the Eastern States, returning to Oregon, but paid another visit to California, and finally coming back to this state, located, February, 1861, the property on which he now resides. With that true celtic trait of character Mr. diamond is very cordial in his likes and dislikes, but withal he is possessed of a kind disposition and the rare faculty of a retentive memory.

-["Illustrated History of Lane County, Oregon." Portland, Oregon: A. G. Walling, publisher, 1884. pg. 488.]

[edit] July 19, 1852

John Diamond and one companion climb what is now known as Diamond Peak and discover Diamond Lake while searching for an emigrant trail from Southern Oregon to Eastern Oregon. Most likely the two explorers viewed the Rim of Crater Lake.

Personal tools