From Speakeasy


A monotheistic religion/way of life which was transmitted to countless prophets, among them Adam, Noah, Moses, Abraham, Jesus Christ, and Muhammad (peace be upon all of them). The final revelation was sent 1400 years ago.


Pillars of Islam


Shahadah is the creed or testimony of faith:

Ašhadu 'al-lā ilāha illā-llāhu wa 'ašhadu 'anna muħammadan rasūlu-llāh

That is: "I testify that there is none worthy of worship except God and I testify that Muhammad is the Messenger of God." A Muslim says this phrase every time he/she prays. In order to enter the religion of Islam a person must say this phrase with a clean intention to convert, some say a witness is required while others say one isn't.


Salah is the obligatory devotional prayer, which is said 5 times a day at prescribed times. There are supplications called dua and additional non-obligatory Sunnah night time prayers. The obligatory prayers must be said in Arabic, while supplications can be said in any language. In order to pray, a Muslim must memorize at least the first surah of the Quran, but ideally they should memorize more verses than that. Some Muslims learn fluent Arabic while others do not.


Zakat is the giving of charity, it is a percentage of one's income (the percentage depends on the income level, wealthier Muslims are expected to give more than poorer), it is usually 2-10%. Charity is especially important during the month of Ramadan.


Sawm is fasting, which is done in Ramadan and on some other occasions.


Hajj is the pilgrimage to Makkah (Mecca) and the performance of the rituals there. Every able-bodied Muslim who can afford to do so is expected to perform Hajj at least once in his/her lifetime. Performing the Hajj is one way to wash away one's sins.

Personal tools
Other sites